PowerPoint Presentation FOCI Bronze Medal PowerPoint Presentation - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


PPT – PowerPoint Presentation FOCI Bronze Medal PowerPoint Presentation PowerPoint presentation | free to download - id: 25dd9-YzIyM


The Adobe Flash plugin is needed to view this content

Get the plugin now

View by Category
About This Presentation

PowerPoint Presentation FOCI Bronze Medal PowerPoint Presentation


... Jr., Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere, awarded the U.S. ... Bond, Nick *Brodeur, Ric. Brown, Annette. Buchheister, Andre *Bunn, James ... – PowerPoint PPT presentation

Number of Views:264
Avg rating:3.0/5.0
Slides: 16
Provided by: AllenM82
Learn more at: http://www.pmel.noaa.gov


Write a Comment
User Comments (0)
Transcript and Presenter's Notes

Title: PowerPoint Presentation FOCI Bronze Medal PowerPoint Presentation

FOCI Bronze Medal Ceremony December 18, 2002
Jim Traynor Conference RoomNOAA - 7600 Sand
Point Way NESeattle, Washington 98115-6349
Fisheries-Oceanography Coordinated Investigations
(FOCI) awarded DOC Bronze Medal
On October 22, 2002, at the Inn and Conference
Center of the University of Maryland University
College, Vice Admiral Conrad C. Lautenbacher,
Jr., Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and
Atmosphere, awarded the U.S. Department of
Commerce Bronze Medal to the NOAA FOCI Program.
FOCI was cited "for scientific achievements that
have advanced fisheries oceanography and marine
ecology and have contributed to building
sustainable fisheries in the North Pacific." The
award was accepted by Dr. Eddie Bernard,
representing the Pacific Marine Environmental
Laboratory and Dr. Jeff Napp, representing the
Alaska Fisheries Science Center. Each
organization received a wall plaque with a bronze
medal and inscription.
A local ceremony was conducted on December 18,
2002, in Seattle, Washington, to honor FOCI and
its members. This is a record of that occasion.
Welcome brief history of FOCI - Allen
Macklin, FOCI Coordinator Birth of the program
- Bill Aron, AFSC Director (retired) Eddie
Bernard, PMEL Director A strong program - Art
Kendall, AFSC FOCI Director (retired)
Jim Schumacher, PMEL FOCI Director (retired)
Perspective - Gary Stauffer, AFSC RACE Director
Award of Bronze Medals to PMEL and AFSC Eddie
Bernard (representing NOAA OAR) awarding to
Jim Schumacher Phyllis Stabeno, PMEL FOCI
Director Gary Stauffer (representing NOAA
Fisheries)awarding to Art Kendall Jeff Napp,
AFSC FOCI Director Acceptances - Phyllis
Stabeno Jeff Napp Award of FOCI Bronze Medal
certificates to honored guests - Phyllis Stabeno
Jeff Napp Lunch Remarks - Ron Reed, PMEL
FOCI Senior Scientist A FOCI biological
timeline - Ann Matarese, AFSC FOCI Scientist
Cutting of the cake - Jeff Napp Phyllis
Stabeno Congratulations from afar - read by
Allen Macklin Recognition from Steve Hammond,
PMEL OERD Leader - read by Ned Cokelet, PMEL
Scientist Musings - Ned Cokelet Comments -
A bit of socializing before the ceremony
(l to r) Kathy Mier, Liz Dobbins, Jeff Napp,
Kevin Bailey, Chrissy Keliyanides, Colleen
Harpold, Jennifer Lanksbury
(l to r) Miriam Doyle, Debbie Blood (back to
camera), Peter Proctor, Ann Matarese, Ron Reed
(l to r) Kimberly Bahl, Jay Clark, Mark Koehn,
Annette Brown, Morgan Busby, Andre Buchheister
(standing), Debbie Blood (striped sweater), Chris
Baier, Susan Picquelle, Peter Proctor, Ann
(l to r) Gary Stauffer, Peter Proctor, Jim
Schumacher, Colleen Harpold, Tony Jenkins,
Jennifer Lanksbury, Cathy Ferrar, Tiffany Vance,
?, Dylan Righi, Annette Brown, ?
Allen Macklin, FOCI Coordinator, explains some of
the "numbers of FOCI" accrued since the start of
the program in 1984 52 number of associate
personnel 133 number of FOCI personnel 179
number of cruises 226 number of FOCI
seminars 447 number of FOCI publications
Bill Aron (left), retired director of the Alaska
Fisheries Science Center, and Eddie Bernard
(right), director of the Pacific Marine
Environmental Laboratory, are the creators and
"grandfathers" of FOCI.
Amused participants (left to right) Jeff Napp,
Phyllis Stabeno, Eddie Bernard, Joyce Gearhart,
Sarah Hinckley, Cathy Ferrar, and Colleen Harpold
enjoy Bill Aron's anecdotes.
Art Kendall (left) and Jim Schumacher (right) are
the retired directors ("fathers") of the AFSC and
PMEL FOCI components, respectively.
Gary Stauffer, AFSC RACE Director, has provided
consistent support that has stabilized FOCI.
Presentation of the Bronze Medal
Eddie Bernard (center left) and Gary Stauffer
(center right) present the DOC Bronze Medal to
Jim Schumacher and Phyllis Stabeno (left) and Art
Kendall and Jeff Napp (right), the respective
retired and current FOCI directors of PMEL and
Phyllis Stabeno and Jeff Napp awarded individual
certificates of recognition (below right) to 125
vested members of the FOCI program. Below left,
Jim Schumacher receives his certificate from Jeff
Participants sampled foodstuffs from various
trophic levels of the ecosystem!
An assortment of gourmet submarine
sandwiches Varietal chips Assorted beverages And
Chocolate-vanilla Bronze Medal cake with butter
cream frosting
l to r Eddie Bernard, Jim Schumacher, Phyllis
Stabeno, Jeff Napp, Art Kendall, Bill Aron
The Future of FOCI Physics (l to r) Dylan Righi,
Carol Ladd, Peggy Sullivan
l to r Eddie Bernard, Jim Schumacher, Phyllis
Stabeno, Allen Macklin, Jeff Napp, Gary Stauffer,
Art Kendall, Bill Aron
Jorgenson, Elaina Kachel, David Kachel,
Nancy Kendall, Art Klawitter, Dan Koehn, Mark
Ladd, Carol Lanksbury, Jennifer Lind,
Angela MacDonald, Erin Macklin, Allen Matarese,
Ann Mccauley, Kitty Megrey, Bern Merati,
Nazila Mier, Kathy Mueter, Franz Napp,
Jeff Nelson, Russ Olla, Bori Overland,
Jim Paakkonen, Jari Panidis, Justin
(photo) Parker, Bill Pautzke,
Clarence Picquelle, Susan
Alexander, Vera Alvarez-Flores,
Carlos Anderson, Jim (photo) Aron, Bill Ault,
Jerry Bahl, Kimberly Baier, Chris Bailey,
Kevin Balsiger, Jim Bernard, Eddie Blood,
Debbie Boeing, Wiebke Bond, Nick Brodeur,
Ric Brown, Annette Buchheister, Andre Bunn,
James Busby, Morgan Canino, Michael Cartwright,
Rachael Ciannelli, Lorenzo Clancy, Tim Clark,
Jay Coe, Jim Cokelet, Ned Dagg, Mike Dark, Tom
Deliyanides, Christina DeMaster, Doug DeWitt,
Carol Dobbins, Liz Dougherty, Dan Dowgiallo,
Mike Doyle, Miriam Duffy-Anderson, Janet Dunn,
Jean Eaton, Bart Erickson, Ron Ferrar,
Cathy Floering, Bill Fornalski,
Jeff Gallagher, Mike Gearhart, Joyce Hadden,
Carrie Hammond, Stephen Harpold,
Colleen Hermann, Al Hester, Richard Hickey,
Barbara Hinckley, Sarah Hofmann, Eileen Houde,
Ed Jenkins, Antonio Johnson, David
Proctor, Peter Porter, Steve Reed, Ron Righi,
Dylan Rodionov, Sergei Roskie, Earl Royer,
Tom Rugen, Bill Rugen, Lisa Salo,
Sigrid Scavia, Don Schumacher, Jim Sites,
Bill Spillane, Mick Stabeno, Phyllis Stauffer,
Gary Sullivan, Peggy Theilacker, Gail Turner,
Beth Tyler, Al Vance, Tiffany Vinter, Bev Wang,
Muyin Wilson, Matt Wood, Kevin Wooster, Warren
unable to attend
About PowerShow.com