View by Category

Children books and presentations

Show:
Sort by:
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother Gaea Her giants have risen-all of them-and they re stronger than ever They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter led by Octavian is almost within striking distance Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps The Athena Parthenos will go west the Argo II will go east The gods still suffering from multiple personality disorder are useless How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea s army of powerful giants As dangerous as it is to head to Athens they have no other option They have sacrificed too much already And if Gaea wakes it is game over
Crayons have feelings too in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me--now a 1 New York Times bestseller Poor Duncan just wants to color But when he opens his box of crayons he finds only letters all saying the same thing His crayons have had enough They quit Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon Black wants to be used for more than just outlining Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking each believes he is the true color of the sun What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift for all budding artists for fans of humorous books such as Don t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith and for fans of Oliver Jeffers Stuck The Incredible Book Eating Boy Lost and Found and This Moose Belongs to Me
The extraordinary 1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers I won t describe what I look like Whatever you re thinking it s probably worse August Pullman was born with a facial difference that up until now has prevented him from going to a mainstream school Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid but his new classmates can t get past Auggie s extraordinary face WONDER now a 1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list begins from Auggie s point of view but soon switches to include his classmates his sister her boyfriend and others These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community s struggle with empathy compassion and acceptance Wonder is the best kids book of the year said Emily Bazelon senior editor at Slate com and author of Sticks and Stones Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope R J Palacio has called her debut novel a meditation on kindness indeed every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of... friendship Auggie is a hero to root for a diamond in the rough who proves that you can t blend in when you were born to stand out Join the conversation thewonderofwondermore
A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods and I was like Can we do this anonymously Because I don t need the Olympians mad at me again But if it helps you to know your Greek gods and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week So begins Percy Jackson s Greek Gods in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic--and sarcastic asides--to the classics He explains how the world was created then gives readers his personal take on a who s who of ancients from Apollo to Zeus Percy does not hold back If you like horror shows blood baths lying stealing backstabbing and cannibalism then read on because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume--a must for home library and classroom shelves--as stunning as it is entertaining
Our best-selling body book for girls just got even better With all-new illustrations and updated content for girls ages 8 and up it features tips how-tos and facts from the experts You ll find answers to questions about your changing body from hair care to healthy eating bad breath to bras periods to pimples and everything in between Once you feel comfortable with what s happening you ll be ready to move on to the The Care Keeping of You 2
Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent The Maze Runner motion picture featuring the star of MTV s Teen Wolf Dylan O Brien Kaya Scodelario Aml Ameen Will Poulter and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and hits theaters September 19 2014 Also look for James Dashner s newest book The Eye of Minds book one in the Mortality Doctrine series If you ain t scared you ain t human When Thomas wakes up in the lift the only thing he can remember is his name He s surrounded by strangers boys whose memories are also gone Nice to meet ya shank Welcome to the Glade Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless ever-changing maze It s the only way out and no one s ever made it through alive Everything is going to change Then a girl arrives The first girl ever And the message she delivers is terrifying Remember Survive Run Praise for the Maze Runner series A mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies The Hunger Games and Lost EW com Wonderful action writing fast-paced but smart and well observed Newsday A nail-biting must-read Seventeen com Breathless cinematic action Publishers Weekly Heart-pounding to the... very last moment Kirkus Reviews Exclamation-worthy Romantic Times STAR James Dashner s illuminating prequel The Kill Order will thrill fans of this Maze Runner series and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series Shelf Awareness Starredmore
The Giver the 1994 Newbery Medal winner has become one of the most influential novels of our time The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas who lives in a seemingly ideal if colorless world of conformity and contentment Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark complex secrets behind his fragile community Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver including Gathering Blue Messenger and Son
THE all-time classic picture book from generation to generation sold somewhere in the world every 30 seconds Have you shared it with a child or grandchild in your life The very hungry caterpillar literally eats his way through the pages of the book and right into your child s heart Mother s Manual Gorgeously illustrated brilliantly innovative The New York Times Book Review
The extraordinary 1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture Markus Zusak s unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul It is 1939 Nazi Germany The country is holding its breath Death has never been busier and will become busier still Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can t resist books With the help of her accordion-playing foster father she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity award-winning author Markus Zusak author of I Am the Messenger has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time From the Hardcover edition
A heroic story of friendship and belonging No one ever said life was easy But Ponyboy is pretty sure that he s got things figured out He knows that he can count on his brothers Darry and Sodapop And he knows that he can count on his friends true friends who would do anything for him like Johnny and Two-Bit And when it comes to the Socs a vicious gang of rich kids who enjoy beating up on greasers like him and his friends he knows that he can count on them for trouble But one night someone takes things too far and Ponyboy s world is turned upside down Written over forty-five years ago The Outsiders is a dramatic and enduring work of fiction S E Hinton s classic story of a boy who finds himself on the outskirts of regular society remains as powerful today as it was the day it was first published The Outsiders transformed young-adult fiction from a genre mostly about prom queens football players and high school crushes to one that portrayed a darker truer world The New York Times Taut with tension filled with drama The Chicago Tribune A classic coming-of-age book Philadelphia Daily News What it s like to live lonely and unwanted and cornered by circumstance There is rawness and violence here but honest hope too National Observer A... New York Herald Tribune Best Teenage Book A Chicago Tribune Book World Spring Book Festival Honor Book An ALA Best Book for Young Adults Winner of the Massachusetts Children s Book Awardmore
PowerPlugs