View by Category

Children books and presentations

Show:
Sort by:
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother Gaea Her giants have risen-all of them-and they re stronger than ever They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter led by Octavian is almost within striking distance Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps The Athena Parthenos will go west the Argo II will go east The gods still suffering from multiple personality disorder are useless How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea s army of powerful giants As dangerous as it is to head to Athens they have no other option They have sacrificed too much already And if Gaea wakes it is game over
Crayons have feelings too in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me--now a 1 New York Times bestseller Poor Duncan just wants to color But when he opens his box of crayons he finds only letters all saying the same thing His crayons have had enough They quit Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon Black wants to be used for more than just outlining Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking each believes he is the true color of the sun What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift for all budding artists for fans of humorous books such as Don t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith and for fans of Oliver Jeffers Stuck The Incredible Book Eating Boy Lost and Found and This Moose Belongs to Me
Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent The Maze Runner motion picture featuring the star of MTV s Teen Wolf Dylan O Brien Kaya Scodelario Aml Ameen Will Poulter and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and hits theaters September 19 2014 Also look for James Dashner s newest book The Eye of Minds book one in the Mortality Doctrine series If you ain t scared you ain t human When Thomas wakes up in the lift the only thing he can remember is his name He s surrounded by strangers boys whose memories are also gone Nice to meet ya shank Welcome to the Glade Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless ever-changing maze It s the only way out and no one s ever made it through alive Everything is going to change Then a girl arrives The first girl ever And the message she delivers is terrifying Remember Survive Run Praise for the Maze Runner series A mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies The Hunger Games and Lost EW com Wonderful action writing fast-paced but smart and well observed Newsday A nail-biting must-read Seventeen com Breathless cinematic action Publishers Weekly Heart-pounding to the... very last moment Kirkus Reviews Exclamation-worthy Romantic Times STAR James Dashner s illuminating prequel The Kill Order will thrill fans of this Maze Runner series and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series Shelf Awareness Starredmore
Greg Heffley and his family hit the road in author-illustrator Jeff Kinney s latest installment of the phenomenal bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series
A follow-up to The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories by Dr Seuss A new Dr Seuss book This follow-up to The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories features familiar Seussian faces and places including Horton the Elephant Marco Mulberry Street and a Grinch as well as an introduction by renowned Seuss scholar Charles D Cohen Seuss fans will learn more about Horton s integrity Marco s amazing imagination a narrowly avoided disaster on Mullbery Street and a devious Grinch With a color palette enhanced beyond that of the magazines in which the stories originally appeared this new volume of lost tales is a perfect gift for young readers and a must-have for Seuss collectors of all ages
The extraordinary 1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers I won t describe what I look like Whatever you re thinking it s probably worse August Pullman was born with a facial difference that up until now has prevented him from going to a mainstream school Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid but his new classmates can t get past Auggie s extraordinary face WONDER now a 1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list begins from Auggie s point of view but soon switches to include his classmates his sister her boyfriend and others These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community s struggle with empathy compassion and acceptance Wonder is the best kids book of the year said Emily Bazelon senior editor at Slate com and author of Sticks and Stones Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope R J Palacio has called her debut novel a meditation on kindness indeed every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of... friendship Auggie is a hero to root for a diamond in the rough who proves that you can t blend in when you were born to stand out Join the conversation thewonderofwondermore
The OFFICIAL Combat Handbook will teach you everything you need to know to defend yourself from hostile monsters and enemy players In Minecraft you re never alone and the threat of attack is constant How will you survive The Official Combat Handbook will teach you everything you need to know to defend yourself from hostile monsters and enemy players You can learn how to build a fort craft armor and weapons set mob traps defeat your enemies in one-on-one combat and battle your way out of the Nether and the End With tips from Minecraft experts developer Jeb and creator Notch himself you ll be a Minecraft warrior in no time
A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods and I was like Can we do this anonymously Because I don t need the Olympians mad at me again But if it helps you to know your Greek gods and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week So begins Percy Jackson s Greek Gods in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic--and sarcastic asides--to the classics He explains how the world was created then gives readers his personal take on a who s who of ancients from Apollo to Zeus Percy does not hold back If you like horror shows blood baths lying stealing backstabbing and cannibalism then read on because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume--a must for home library and classroom shelves--as stunning as it is entertaining
The Giver the 1994 Newbery Medal winner has become one of the most influential novels of our time The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas who lives in a seemingly ideal if colorless world of conformity and contentment Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark complex secrets behind his fragile community Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver including Gathering Blue Messenger and Son
Long before there was a band there was a boy a young Keith Richards who was introduced to the joy of music through his beloved granddad Theodore Augustus Dupree affectionately known as Gus who was in a jazz big band and is the namesake of Keith s daughter Theodora Dupree Richards Gus Me offers a rare and intimate look into the childhood of the legendary Keith Richards through this poignant and inspiring story that is lovingly illustrated with Theodora Richards s exquisite pen-and-ink collages This unique autobiographical picture book honors the special bond between a grandfather and grandson and celebrates the artistic talents of the Richards family through the generations It also includes selected photographs from the Richards family collection and an exclusive audio CD featuring bonus content
PowerPlugs