View by Category

Education & Reference books and presentations

Show:
Sort by:
It s time to get off the beaten path Inspiring equal parts wonder and wanderlust Atlas Obscura celebrates over 700 of the strangest and most curious places in the world Talk about a bucket list here are natural wonders the dazzling glowworm caves in New Zealand or a baobob tree in South Africa that s so large it has a pub inside where 15 people can drink comfortably Architectural marvels including the M C Escher-like stepwells in India Mind-boggling events like the Baby Jumping Festival in Spain where men dressed as devils literally vault over rows of squirming infants Not to mention the Great Stalacpipe Organ in Virginia Turkmenistan s 40-year hole of fire called the Gates of Hell a graveyard for decommissioned ships on the coast of Bangladesh eccentric bone museums in Italy or a weather-forecasting invention that was powered by leeches still on display in Devon England Created by Joshua Foer Dylan Thuras and Ella Morton ATLAS OBSCURA revels in the weird the unexpected the overlooked the hidden and the mysterious Every page expands our sense of how strange and marvelous the world really is And with its compelling descriptions hundreds of photographs surprising charts maps for every region of the world it is a book to enter... anywhere and will be as appealing to the armchair traveler as the die-hard adventurer Anyone can be a tourist ATLAS OBSCURA is for the explorer more
The ultimate annual book of records is back and crammed with more than ever before Guinness World Records 2017 is bursting with all-new records on topics as diverse as black holes domes owls and killer plants Want to know the highest anyone has travelled on a skateboard or the largest loop-the-loop completed in a car Dying to know just how many tricks a cat can do in one minute The answers to these questions and so much more are right inside New in this year s edition are exciting infographic features exploring the fascinating details on topics such as animals the human body sports and explorations And of course all your favorite record categories are updated for 2017 such as the world s new tallest dog And as ever our team of world-class photographers have traveled the globe to capture amazing images of the year s most impressive record holders Let us know your favorite Do try this at home Want to be a record-breaker Inside you ll find challenges you can try in the back yard in the kitchen in your bedroom or even in the gym Who knows you may become a world record holder yourself Bonus content for the US editionFind exclusive pages just for the USA featuring amazing records from the X Games and a special look at the 125th... anniversary of basketball more
The New York Times bestseller that celebrates the dreams acceptance and love that parents have for their children now and forever From brave and bold to creative and clever Emily Winfield Martin s rhythmic rhyme expresses all the loving things that parents think of when they look at their children With beautiful and sometimes humorous illustrations and a clever gatefold with kids in costumes this is a book grown-ups will love reading over and over to kids both young and old A great gift for any occasion but a special stand-out for baby showers birthdays and graduation The Wonderful Things You Will Be has a loving and truthful message that will endure for lifetimes
Filled with photographs this beautifully designed book is organized into two-page spreads that each focus on a different topic making it easy and fun to read --Redding comPresenting the next must-have fun-filled gift book from the team that created Ultimate Weird But True 5 000 Cool Facts About Everything treats kids to brain candy and eye candy all rolled into one treasure trove of high-interest fascinating facts Lively and information-packed this book is literally busting its covers with fascinating fun-tastic facts on super sensational topics that kids love Who knew that there were so many sweet things to learn about chocolate or that a dozen delicious details about peanut butter would show up on a page with a few splotches of jelly to whet our appetites Keep turning and a terrifyingly toothy shark tells you all about himself while other spreads lay out tons of tips on toys and games mysteries of history robots and reptiles sports and spies wacky words and so much more A visual feast of colorful photographs surrounded by swirling tipping expanding and climbing bits of information in a high-energy design this book will satisfy both the casual browser and the truly fact obsessed
A 1 New York Times bestseller this innovative and wildly funny read-aloud by award-winning humorist actor B J Novak will turn any reader into a comedian You might think a book with no pictures seems boring and serious Except here s how books work Everything written on the page has to be said by the person reading it aloud Even if the words say BLORK Or BLUURF Even if the words are a preposterous song about eating ants for breakfast or just a list of astonishingly goofy sounds like BLAGGITY BLAGGITY and GLIBBITY GLOBBITY Cleverly irreverent and irresistibly silly The Book with No Pictures is one that kids will beg to hear again and again And parents will be happy to oblige
The 1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon Poor Duncan just wants to color But when he opens his box of crayons he finds only letters all saying the same thing His crayons have had enough They quit Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon Black wants to be used for more than just outlining Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking each believes he is the true color of the sun What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift for all budding artists for fans of humorous books such as Don t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith and for fans of Oliver Jeffers Stuck The Incredible Book Eating Boy Lost and Found and This Moose Belongs to Me Praise for The Day the Crayons QuitAmazon s 2013 Best Picture Book of the YearA Barnes Noble Best Book of 2013Goodreads 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year Winner... of the E B White Read-Aloud Award Hilarious Move over Click Clack Moo we ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike BCCB starred review Jeffers elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights Booklist Fresh and funny The Wall Street Journal This book will have children asking to have it read again and again Library Media Connection This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime School Library Journal starred review These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes Publishers Weekly starred review Utterly original San Francisco Chroniclemore
A perfect gift for new parents birthday celebrations and happy occasions of all kinds this collection of five beloved Beginner Books by Dr Seuss The Cat in the Hat One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish Green Eggs and Ham Hop on Pop and Fox in Socks will be cherished by young and old alike Ideal for reading aloud or reading alone they will begin a child on the adventure of a lifetime
There s a lot a young man in the making needs to succeed as he grows up and prepares to make his way in the world Many important skills and character traits he should acquire he might not be quick to ask how to do because well then people would know he doesn t know what he is doing just yet For all the guys who want great advise from world class experts about getting life together Jonathan Catherman offers this collection of one hundred step-by-step instructions on almost everything a guy needs to know including how to wear cologne correctly grill a steak tie a tie manage money talk to a girl plan a date write a r sum ask for a reference clean a bathroom throw darts change a tire behave during a traffic stop fold a shirt clear a sink drain find a stud in a wall In fact if it s in here it s an important skill or character trait practiced by capable and confident men With great illustrations and supporting social media this all-in-one reference tool is the perfect gift for any guy s birthday graduation or just because you care that he becomes the best of men
WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE From the highly acclaimed multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr the beautiful stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History where he works as the master of its thousands of locks When she is six Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home When she is twelve the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo where Marie-Laure s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea With them they carry what might be the museum s most valuable and dangerous jewel In a mining town in Germany the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister enchanted by a crude radio they find Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth then a special assignment to track the resistance More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence Werner travels through... the heart of the war and finally into Saint-Malo where his story and Marie-Laure s converge Doerr s stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors San Francisco Chronicle are dazzling Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner he illuminates the ways against all odds people try to be good to one another Ten years in the writing a National Book Award finalist All the Light We Cannot See is a magnificent deeply moving novel from a writer whose sentences never fail to thrill Los Angeles Times more
1 New York Times BestsellerThe acclaimed bestselling author winner of the PEN Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families lives One Sunday afternoon in Southern California Bert Cousins shows up at Franny Keating s christening party uninvited Before evening falls he has kissed Franny s mother Beverly thus setting in motion the dissolution of their marriages and the joining of two families Spanning five decades Commonwealth explores how this chance encounter reverberates through the lives of the four parents and six children involved Spending summers together in Virginia the Keating and Cousins children forge a lasting bond that is based on a shared disillusionment with their parents and the strange and genuine affection that grows up between them When in her twenties Franny begins an affair with the legendary author Leon Posen and tells him about her family the story of her siblings is no longer hers to control Their childhood becomes the basis for his wildly successful book ultimately forcing them to come to terms with their losses their guilt and the deeply loyal connection they feel for one another Told with equal measures of humor and... heartbreak Commonwealth is a meditation on inspiration interpretation and the ownership of stories It is a brilliant and tender tale of the far-reaching ties of love and responsibility that bind us together more
PowerPlugs